Pistol purchase permits can be obtained at our Office Monday – Thursday, from 7:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. and Friday, from 7:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Gun Registration Drop Box
Don’t forget to take advantage of our Gun Registration drive-up Drop Box located just outside the Public Entrance!
Pistol Sales Records may also be mailed to:
Livingston County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Gun Registration
150 S. Highlander Way
Howell MI 48843
Firearm ownership is a great responsibility. You must take the appropriate measures to safeguard your welfare, as well as the welfare of others, when handling a firearm. Accident prevention is the user’s responsibility.
To legally own and use a firearm, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be at least 21 years of age, or you must be at least 18 years of age if you are purchasing the firearm from a relative.
- If you have ever been convicted of a Felony, you will not be eligible.
- If you have any criminal cases pending against you or old cases without a court disposition, you will not be eligible.
- If you have any court orders that state you may not purchase or own a firearm, you will not be eligible.
- You must present valid picture identification showing your current address. We will not accept expired identifications.
Purchasing a Firearm from a Dealer
Any gun that is 26 inches or less is required to be registered in Michigan. If you purchase a gun from a gun dealer, you will need to bring the Licensing Authority copy of the Pistol Sales Record to us by dropping it in the black box outside our building or mailing it to us. You have 10 days to bring the pistol sales record to us from the day that you purchase it.
Purchasing a Firearm from an Individual
With a CPL
If you are purchasing a handgun from an individual and you have a valid Michigan CPL, go to the Michigan State Police website to fill out the Pistol Sales Record (RI-060) form. Print off the form, get the appropriate signatures, and drop off or mail the Licensing Authority copy to us so that we can register the gun.
Without a CPL
If you are purchasing a handgun from an individual and you do not have a valid Michigan CPL, please come into our Office to obtain a Pistol Purchase Permit. Your permit is good for 30 days from the time it is issued, and you have 10 days to drop off or mail the Licensing Authority copy back to us once the purchase is made.
Inheriting a Firearm from a Relative
An inherited gun is treated the same as if you were purchasing from an individual. The next of kin or representative of the estate must sign as the seller. To legally take possession of an inherited gun, you must obtain a pistol purchase permit from our Office if you do not have a Michigan CPL. If you have a valid Michigan CPL, you can simply go to the Michigan State Police website and fill out the Pistol Sales Record (RI-060) form and return a copy to our Office.
New Michigan Resident
If you moved from out of state, you must have your firearms re-registered in the State of Michigan. Please come into our office to obtain a Pistol Purchase Permit.
Firearm Safety & Requirements
Transporting Your Firearm
Without a Concealed Pistol License, you are limited to transporting your pistol, unloaded, in a locked container, in the trunk of a vehicle only under the following circumstances:
- En route to or from a hunting or target shooting area.
- Transportation from the place of purchase to your home, place of business or place of repair.
- In moving goods from one place of residence or business to another place of residence or business.
If your vehicle does not have a trunk, the weapon may be transported in the passenger compartment for the above purposes, provided that it is unloaded, in a locked case and not readily accessible to the occupants of the vehicle.
Hunting with a Firearm
When hunting with a pistol, the pistol must be carried in a holster or belt in plain view, on the outside of your clothing, unless you have a Concealed Pistol License for hunting or a non-restricted Concealed Pistol License.