Do you have a tip about a crime? Call Our Tip Line at (517) 546-8477

Please leave as much information as possible. This can be done anonymously, however, to better assist us in our investigation, we would prefer that you leave a first name with a phone number to reach you. Every effort will be made to keep this information confidential. If there is a crime in progress, call 911 immediately!

The Investigative Services Unit is supervised by Lieutenant Mike Nast. The Investigative Services Unit consists of:

  • A Detective Sergeant
  • Six Detectives
  • Two Deputies assigned to Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) as Task Force Officers
  • One Deputy assigned to the Livingston and Washtenaw Narcotics Enforcement Team (LAWNET)
  • Four Volunteer Cold Case Investigators

The Investigative Services Unit is also supported by a Property Room Officer, a Crime Analyst, and an Administrative Aide.

Within Investigative Services, we have the following specialized units:

Detective Bureau

The Detective Bureau is a specialized investigative unit, which works in conjunction with Uniformed Services on unresolved field investigations and specialized criminal investigations. Detectives conduct complex criminal investigations by gathering all available information including detailed interviewing of victim(s), witnesses, and potential suspect(s), collecting and preserving evidence, processing crime scenes, conducting surveillance, and obtaining search warrants. Detectives also evaluate crime trends and patterns using modern police technology in their efforts to prevent or complete a criminal investigation.

Detectives work Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., with a rotating on-call status every week.

 

Detective Bureau Contacts Email Phone Number
Detective Bureau   (517) 540-7959
Det. Lieutenant Mike Nast mnast@livgov.com (517) 540-7912
Det. Sergeant Matt Young myoung@livgov.com (517) 540-7960
Det. Kevin Burke kburke@livgov.com (517) 546-2440 Ext. 4535
Det. Jacob Fairbanks jfairbanks@livgov.com (517) 546-2440 Ext. 4394
Det. Jason Davis jdavis@livgov.com (517) 546-2440 Ext. 4387
Det. Curt Novara cnovara@livgov.com (517) 546-2440 Ext. 4322
Det. Alex Capra acapra@livgov.com (517) 546-2440 Ext. 4565
Jeff Klein, Property Room Manager jklein@livgov.com (517) 540-7915
Sheriff’s Office
Jenny Nash, Livingston County Treasurer
Michael Murphy
Sheriff
Q

Phone Numbers

Office: (517) 546-2440
Tip Line: (517) 546-8477
Jail: (517) 546-2445
Emergencies: 911
Non-Emergencies: (517) 546-9111

Office Hours

Mon-Thu: 7 a.m. -7 p.m.
Fri: 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Closed County Holidays

Location

150 S Highlander Way
Howell, MI 48843

Fax

(517) 545-9627