Livingston County will be closed on Monday, May 27th in honor of Memorial Day.

Sheriff Michael J. Murphy

mmurphy@livgov.com

Undersheriff Jason Pless

jpless@livgov.com

Jail Services

(517) 546-2445

Lieutenant Tarnesia Pringle
tpringle@livgov.com

Lieutenant Daniel Knapp
dknapp@livgov.com

Investigative Services

Tip Line: (517) 540-7959

Lieutenant Mike Nast
mnast@livgov.com

Detective Contacts »

 

Administration

(517) 546-2440

Kelly Costa
Executive Assistant/Office Manager
kcosta@livgov.com

Field Services

Lieutenant Chad Sell
csell@livgov.com

Lieutenant Eric Sanborn
esanborn@livgov.com

The Livingston County Sheriff’s Office was established in 1836. Today, the Sheriff’s Office is comprised of 165 full and part-time staff members. In addition, the Sheriff’s Office has mounted and youth explorer volunteer units. Our current operating budget is $18 million dollars, which includes equipment and personnel cost.

Staff Members

Our Jail Division processes over 5,000 inmates per year. Our rated jail capacity stands at 411 and the average length of incarceration for an inmate is 14 days. We offer a number of programs to individuals while they are incarcerated. For example; Alcoholics and Narcotics Anonymous, church services, counseling, self-development classes, and assistance with GED completion. These programs are designed to be additional tools for their “tool box” to help folks better acclimate when they are released. To improve communication between inmates and their legal counsel and loved ones, we’ve added video visitation and e-mail services.

The Sheriff’s Office is responsible for responding to 80% of the calls for service in the unincorporated areas of Livingston County. In addition, we have  contracts to provide supplemental law enforcement services in the townships of Tyrone and Putnam. Our Field Services Division consists of a Uniformed Division, Detective Bureau, Special Response Team, Crime Scene Investigators, K9, Traffic Safety Bureau, and a Central Records Division.

Investigations per year

Our Field Services Division responds to approximately 27,000 investigations per year. Around 15,000 of these calls are dispatched responses for service from 911 and about 12,000 are self-initiated investigations generated by our Deputies. These incidents include; accidents, domestic situations, property crimes, misdemeanors, and felony complaints. We are proud to have great working relationships with the other police agencies in the county and assist them regularly.

Our goal is to provide the best possible service to the County’s residents with the resources at our disposal. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve our services, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sheriff’s Office
Jenny Nash, Livingston County Treasurer
Michael Murphy
Sheriff
Q

Phone Numbers

Office: (517) 546-2440
Tip Line: (517) 546-8477
Jail: (517) 546-2445
Emergencies: 911
Non-Emergencies: (517) 546-9111

Office Hours

Mon-Thu: 7 a.m. -7 p.m.
Fri: 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Closed County Holidays

Location

150 S Highlander Way
Howell, MI 48843

Fax

(517) 545-9627