$27,000 is based on the 2023 value. Check the table below for prior years’ amounts.
Small estates under $27,000 (2023 value, check table below for prior years) apply if all of the real and personal property owned by the decedent has a total value equal to or less than the sum of the following: (i) the funeral expenses; plus (ii) $27,000. Upon presentation of a petition and payment of the filing fee, the Probate Court may order that the funeral expenses be paid, if they have not been paid, or that the person who paid them be reimbursed. The balance of the property will be assigned to the surviving spouse, or if none, to the decedent’s heirs under Michigan’s law of intestate succession. No court hearing is held.
Filing a Petition and Order for Assignment
- A funeral bill marked “Paid” which show the amount paid and who paid it. If the funeral bill is not paid, you must have a copy of the bill showing the amount due.
- A copy of the death certificate showing the residence at the time of death is Livingston County.
- A completed petition (PC 556m) typed or printed legibly in blue ink.
- The completed petition (PC 556m) must show the value of all assets as of the date of death. Examples of sources for information include a newspaper showing stock values or a quote from an auto dealer showing the value of the automobile.
- List all information about the assets that is available. For bank accounts, show the name of the bank, the account number(s), and the balance at the time of death. For stocks and bonds, show the name of the corporation, number of shares, price per share, and total value.
- The filing fee is $25 plus and $13 fee for the certified copy of the Order, plus a gross Estate Fee Based upon the value of the inventory before funeral expenses which the Court Clerk can advise you of at the time of filing.
If the only asset to probate is a motor vehicle (i.e.: automobile, truck, motorcycle, boat, mobile home, etc.) the Secretary of State office may be able to transfer the asset directly to the entitle heirs without the need of an Order of the Court.
Maximum Estate Value
The Total* value of the assets on the original and any amended petitions, after payment of funeral and burial expenses, may not exceed:
|Estate Value||Year Decedent Passed Away|
|$21,000||1/1/2012 – 12/31/2013|
|$22,000||1/1/2014 – 12/31/2017|
|$23,000||1/1/2018 – 12/31/2019|
|$24,000||1/1/2020 – 12/31/2021|
|$25,000||1/1/2022 – 12/31/202|
|$27,000||1/1/2023 – Present|
* As adjusted for cost of living per Michigan Department of Treasury.