Emancipation of Minors
Forms may be obtained at the Livingston County Juvenile Court by calling (517) 546-1500 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
Emancipation is the process for teenagers to obtain legal independence from their parents’ control. The petitioner must be between 16 – 18 years of age. Visit the Michigan Legal Help website or Section 722.4a-e in the Michigan Compiled Laws for more information regarding emancipation.
What to Submit to the Juvenile Court
- Petition for Emancipation (PC 100)
- Addendum to Protected Personal Identifying Information (Form MC 97a)
- Fee Waiver Request (Form MC 20), if applicable
- A certified copy of the birth certificate
- $175 filing fee