Livingston County will be closed on Monday, May 27th in honor of Memorial Day.

All Adoption Proceedings are processed by the Adoption Department of the Livingston County Juvenile Court. The Adoption Department works with the public and adoption agencies to provide oversight and supervision of adoption petitions and post-adoption information requests. We are charged with ensuring that the confidentiality of information is maintained and that the adoption process is handled expeditiously as required by laws. We process adoption petitions for direct placement, agency, adult, stepparent, guardian and relative adoptions. We also accept petitions regarding post-adoption matters, including information requests and confidential intermediary services. For information regarding Delayed Registrations of Foreign Birth, please contact Livingston County Probate Court.

General Guidelines

  • Petitioner and/or adoptee must be a resident of Livingston County.
  • Petitioner(s) are responsible for providing notice as directed by the Court, including any Personal Service or Service by Publication. Petitioner(s) are responsible for process server fees or publication fees as charged.
  • Adoptees over the age of 14, Guardians with specific authority to consent, and Parents consenting to an adoption, must consent at a hearing before a Judge or Referee of the Circuit Court.

Court staff cannot give legal advice and/or assist in completing any forms. Petitioner(s) must determine whether they need the assistance of an attorney.

Submitting Petition Packets

  1. Complete Petition Packets/Documents (documents must be single-sided)
  2. Mail or hand deliver to:
    • Livingston County Juvenile Court
      Adoption Department
      204 S. Highlander Way, Suite 3
      Howell, MI 48843
  3. Email documents (after initial packet has been filed) to juvenilecourt@livgov.com with the subject line “Attention Adoption Department”

Filing Fees

Filing fees are due at the time of filing by check or money order.

Adoption Petition Filing Fee:

  • $185 payable to Livingston County Juvenile Court

Supplemental Petitions/Motions Fee:

  • $20 payable to Livingston County Juvenile Court
  • Applies to any supplemental petitions or motions filed after the initial Adoption Petition filing.

Home Investigation Fee:

  • $100 payable to Livingston County Juvenile Court
  • Applies to all Stepparent, Relative, and Legal Guardian Adoptions
  • Fee applies per household, not adoptee

Adult Adoption Investigation Fee:

  • $50 payable to Livingston County Juvenile Court
  • Applies to all Adult Adoptions
  • Applies per adoptee

Birth Certificate Fee:

  • $50 payable to State of Michigan
  • For adoptees born in Michigan and foreign birth
  • Fee includes amendment and one certified copy of new birth certificate
  • $16 for each additional certified copy requested

If the adoptee was not born in the State of Michigan, you must contact the appropriate office and inquire of the forms and fees required to amend the birth certificate.

Juvenile Court
Livingston County Official Logo
Q

Phone

(517) 546-1500

Hours

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Closed County Holidays

Judicial Center

204 S. Highlander Way
Suite 3
Howell, MI 48843

Fax

(517) 546-3731