Manage Your Case Online
You may view your child support case online using the secure MiChildSupport website. MiChildSupport is available 24-hours a day and provides case information, including support payments.
When the Court orders child support, Michigan Court Rules require a Uniform Child Support Order. The Uniform Child Support Order governs the terms of child support for the life of the Order. Unless otherwise Ordered, the payer of support must make their payments to the Michigan State Disbursement Unit (MiSDU.) A payer (person Ordered to pay support) should reference the MiSDU website for acceptable payment methods.
The Livingston County Friend of the Court accepts cash or credit card payments in person at our Office located in the Law Center at 210 S. Highlander Way, Suite 3, Howell, MI 48843. We also accept MasterCard, Discover, and Visa credit cards, and debit cards with the MasterCard or Visa logo. Michigan Court Rules permit a payment to be made on a specific case by submitting a completed, signed Special Instruction Payment Coupon when paying in person for a case in Livingston County at the Livingston County Friend of the Court Office.
Properly Identifying Payments
It is very important that payments made to the MiSDU are properly identified with the payer’s name, docket number, and at least the last four digits of the payer’s social security number. Payments received by the MiSDU that are unidentifiable are delayed until such time the MiSDU can identify the payer. It is also important to note that payers sending an unidentifiable payment to the MiSDU could have enforcement actions levied against them for non-payment of support. Only a properly identified payment can be applied to the payer’s case(s.) Federal Regulations prevent payments made to the MiSDU from being directed to one case when the payer has multiple cases. Payers with multiple cases making payments through the MiSDU will see their payment split across all eligible cases in accordance with these regulations.
How to Make Payments
Call us at (877) 543-2660
P.O. Box 30351
Lansing, MI 48909-7851
Please note that once an Order for support is entered into the Michigan Child Support Enforcement System (MiCSES,) and a payment is received, the first payment to the recipient of child support (payee) will be by check from the MiSDU.
Payees may elect to have their support electronically sent from the MiSDU to their bank account by direct deposit.
If a direct deposit form is not received by the MiSDU, payments will be made to a debit card called Way2Go issued to the payee at the address listed in Michigan Child Support Enforcement System (MiCSES.) It is imperative that you keep your address updated with the Livingston County Friend of the Court for this and many other reasons. To find more information about direct deposit or the Way2Go card, please visit the MiSDU site.
Support Review Process
The Friend of the Court may conduct a review of child support once every 36 months. A support review can be conducted for the following circumstances:
- Based upon a written request from either the Plaintiff or Defendant to the Livingston County Friend of the Court for a child support review, not more often than once every 36 months from the date of the last Order or the last review.
- Based on an Order from the Court for a child support review.
- Every 36 months if the recipient of support receives public assistance.
- Upon Friend of the Court initiative under certain case conditions.
Filing a Motion for Child Support Modification
If you are not eligible for a review of child support through the Livingston County Friend of the Court and your circumstances have changed, you can petition the Court for modification of child support on your own or through an attorney. Learn More »
Agreement Between the Parties to Modify Support
If both you and the opposite party agree to change child support, you may complete a Uniform Child Support Order and submit it to the Friend of the Court Office for approval. Please keep in mind that while parties are able to agree to a child support amount, the Court is required to Order support according to the Michigan Child Support Guidelines.
The Court may depart from the Guidelines if the following factors are stated pursuant to MCL 552.605:
- If a Court Orders the payment of child support under this or another act of the state, this section applies to that Order.
- Except as otherwise provided in this section, the Court shall Order child support in an amount determined by application of the child support formula developed by the state Friend of the Court Bureau as required in section 19 of the Friend of the Court act, MCL 552.519. The Court may enter an Order that deviates from the formula if the Court determines from the facts of the case that application of the child support formula would be unjust or inappropriate and sets forth in writing or on the record all of the following:
- The child support amount determined by application of the child support formula.
- How the child support Order deviates from the child support formula.
- The value of property or other support awarded instead of the payment of child support, if applicable.
- The reasons why application of the child support formula would be unjust or inappropriate in the case.
- Subsection (2) does not prohibit the Court from entering a child support Order that is agreed to by the parties and that deviates from the child support formula, if the requirements of subsection (2) are met.