Registering to Vote
Everyone must register to vote. You can register to vote in-person up to and including Election Day.
Not sure if you’re registered to vote? Visit the Michigan Voter Information Center to find out.
- A resident of Michigan and the city or township where you are registering to vote for at least 30 days before election day.
- A citizen of the United States of America.
- At least 18 years of age (by election day).
- Not serving a sentence in jail or prison.
How to Register
- You may register to vote at any Secretary of State Branch Office, the Livingston County Clerk’s Office or a City or Township Clerk’s Office.
- If you register at a branch office or at a Clerk’s Office, you will be required to show acceptable photo ID proving identity or sign an affidavit.
- Your voter registration will not be valid until it is accepted by the local City or Township Clerk’s Office. With this in mind, please contact your City or Township Clerk if you do not receive a voter identification card in the mail within two weeks after registering.
- Michigan election law requires that the same address be used for voter registration and driver’s license purposes.
- The Last Day to Register by Mail – You must mail a voter registration application or update of address on or before the 15th day before the next election.
- Last Day to Register in Person – Local City or Township Clerks can accept voter registration applications up to and on Election Day. If it is less than 15 days before an election or on Election Day, residents must visit the City or Township Clerk’s Office and show proof of residency (Michigan ID with current address, utility bill, etc.) to be eligible to vote in that election.