Assumed Names (DBA)
Search Assumed Names
Search for an assumed name record in our Vital Records. This search does not incur a search fee, so you may want to search our records before placing your order.
Who Needs to Register a Business Name?
People who own, conduct or transact business in Livingston County are required by Michigan law to file a certificate with the County Clerk’s Office. You must file a separate certificate for each individual business name.
The following entities do not file at the county level:
- Limited Liability Companies
- Limited Partnerships
- Nonprofit Organizations owned by corporations
- The Clerk’s Office will verify if your requested business name is available at the time of filing. To ensure the business name you are interested in has not been registered with the state, search the State of Michigan LARA website.
- The County Clerk is authorized to reject any assumed name which is likely to mislead the public or is closely similar to other business names and could lead to confusion or deception. Please note, final approval of a business name is the decision of the Livingston County Clerk.
- A person owning, conducting or transacting a business must be at least 18 years of age. Each business name is valid for five years from the date of filing and is subject to renewal.
- Notarization of the form is necessary. Our Office will provide notarization when filing in person. Make sure to bring your state issued photo identification, such as a driver’s license or Michigan state I.D. card.
Both Assumed Name and Copartnership certificates are legal documents. The Clerk’s Office is prohibited from providing legal or accounting advice to anyone interested in filing certificates. Please consult your legal or tax experts for advice.
Assumed Name/General Partnership
An Assumed Name consists of one or more parties. It is more binding since all parties listed must sign the documents in front of a notary public and no changes can be made without the signatures of all parties involved.
|New Certificate||$16.00||Instructions||Online Form|
|Renewal Certificate||$14.00||Instructions||Online Form|
|Change of Business Location Certificate||$10.00||Instructions||Form|
|Legal Name Change Certificate (Marriage/Divorce)||$10.00||Instructions||Form|
|Non-Resident Consent Form||$2.00||Instructions||Form|
A Copartnership consists of two or more parties and may be dissolved or changed by the signature of any party.
Forms of Payment Accepted
Cash, checks, money orders and credit cards* are accepted at our Office. Please make checks and money orders payable to the Livingston County Clerk.
*Credit cards will be assessed a service fee.
The only function of this Office is to register business names at the county level, in Livingston County. There may be other local, state and federal agencies that handle requirements and regulations which affect your business. For information regarding corporations, LLC’s, LLP’s and non-profits, contact the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs – Corporation Division.